1998 Honorary Chairman, Bishop T.D. Jakes

Bishop TD Jakes, pastor of The Potter’s House church and spiritual shepherd to millions around the world, began his ministry in 1979 in a small West Virginia church.  That ministry has now grown into what Christianity Today calls “one of America’s fastest growing mega-churches” and CNN calls “the Smart Church of the 21st Century”. In 1996, 50 families relocated with the Jakes family from West Virginia to Dallas and founded The Potter’s House Church.  Since then, the multiracial nondenominational church has grown to more than 30,000 members, employs almost 400 staff members and has over fifty active outreach ministries.  TD... Read more >>

1997 Honorary Chairman, Dr. John Maxwell

  As a cutting-edge entrepreneur, best-selling author, and dynamic speaker, Dr. John C. Maxwell has cultivated an extensive following among the most highly respected and influential business leaders across the globe. Reaching more than 350,000 people a year through speaking engagements alone, and over a million through resources, Dr. Maxwell is committed to developing leaders of excellence and integrity by providing the finest resources and training for personal and professional growth. His philosophy that "everything rises and falls on leadership" motivates every endeavor to help individuals reach their highest potential, both in the home office and abroad through conferences, books,... Read more >>

1996 Honorary Chairman, Chuck Colson

Charles Wendell Colson was born in Boston in October, 1931. After graduating from Brown University Colson joined the U.S. Marine Corps (1953-55). This was followed by the post of Assistant to the Assistant Secretary of the Navy (1955–56). Colson was a member of the Republican Party and in 1956 he became Administration Assistant to Senator Leverett Saltonstall. In 1961 Colson became a partner in the Gadsby and Hannah Law Firm. In 1969 Colson was appointed to the White House staff as Counsel to President Richard Nixon. Colson also began involved in the activities of the Committee to Re-Elect the President... Read more >>

1995 Honorary Chairman, Dr. D. James Kennedy

  Dennis James Kennedy (November 3, 1930 – September 5, 2007), better known as D. James Kennedy, was an American pastor, evangelist, and Christian broadcaster. He founded the Coral Ridge Presbyterian Church in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, where he was senior pastor from 1960 until his death in 2007. Kennedy also founded Evangelism Explosion International, Coral Ridge Ministries, the Westminster Academy in Ft. Lauderdale, the Knox Theological Seminary, and the Center for Reclaiming America for Christ, a socially conservative political group. In 1974, he began Coral Ridge Ministries, which produced his weekly religious television program, The Coral Ridge Hour, carried on various networks and syndicated on numerous other stations with a peak audience of three million... Read more >>

1994 Honorary Chairman, Dr. Lloyd Ogilvie

Background Born in Kenosha, Wisconsin, September 2, 1930 Married to Doris Kaiser Ogilvie Children: Heather, Scott, Andrew Ogilvie Grandchildren: Erin, Airley, Bonnie and Scotter Ogilvie Education Public schools of Kenosha, Wisconsin Lake Forest College, Lake Forest, Illinois Garrett Theological Seminary, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois New College, University of Edinburgh, Scotland Degrees Bachelor of Arts (Lake Forest College) - 1952 Master of Theology (Garrett Theological Seminary) - 1956 Post Graduate Studies (New College, University of Edinburgh, Scotland) - 1955-1956 Doctor of Divinity (Whitworth College) - 1973 Doctor of Humane Letters (University of Redlands) - 1974 Doctor of Humanities (Moravian College and... Read more >>

1993 Honorary Chairman, Dr. Jack Hayford

Jack Hayford, 1993 Honorary Chairman Jack Hayford knows the awesome power of God firsthand. When he was a baby, he was gripped by a life-threatening illness. But as a result of the earnest prayers of friends and family, he was miraculously healed. The doctors had no other explanation except that the grace of God snatched him back from the brink of death. Several years later, Jack was struck down again by sickness. This time it was polio. The church elders anointed him and prayed for his recovery. God heard their petitions and granted a second miracle. These two extraordinary events... Read more >>

1992 Honorary Chairman, Dr. Adrian Rogers

Dr. Adrian Rogers, 1992 Honorary Chairman Known for his evangelistic zeal and uncompromising commitment to the Word of God, Adrian Rogers was one of the greatest preachers, respected Bible teachers, and Christian leaders of our time. For over fifty years, he consistently presented the Good News of Jesus Christ with strong conviction, compassion, and integrity.   He was a devoted family man — husband to his childhood sweetheart Joyce, father to four children, grandfather to nine, and great-grandfather to one. Of all his accomplishments, Dr. Rogers often said his greatest joy centered in his relationship to Jesus Christ, his wife... Read more >>

1991 Honorary Chairman, Pat Boone

Singer, actor, TV host, producer, songwriter, author, motivational speaker, TV pitchman, radio personality, record company head, TV station owner, sports team owner, family man, humanitarian, a man unafraid to air his views. A lot of Pat Boones from which to pick and choose. A lot of Pat Boones to go around. Right now, Boone – the #10 all time top recording artist, according to music industry bible, Billboard – is the Lion in Winter, five decades of recording history behind him and a busy future ahead. A very active lion… Boone runs his own record company, The Gold Label, designed... Read more >>

1990 Honorary Chairman, George H. Bush

George Herbert Walker Bush (born June 12, 1924) is an American politician who served as the 41st President of the United States (1989–93). A Republican, he had previously served as the 43rd Vice President of the United States (1981–89), a congressman, an ambassador and Director of Central Intelligence; he is currently the oldest surviving President. Bush was born in Milton, Massachusetts, to Senator Prescott Bush and Dorothy Walker Bush. Following the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941, Bush postponed going to college, enlisted in the U.S. Navy on his 18th birthday, and became the youngest aviator in the U.S. Navy... Read more >>